This Is Not a Post About Baseball

I don’t claim to be an expert on anything, especially Art,….and economics, …….and French Literature, …….or String Theory.(Although I do enjoy string cheese)But I do know that The Dogs Playing Poker, and a velvet Elvis is not great art. Very very cool to look at, I mean the dogs just look so human, but not great art. So when I came across this post over at Damn Cool Pictures-20 Most Expensive Paintings Ever Sold I was not surprised that a velvet Elvis was not one of them, but the paintings that are listed…….really suck.

#19 on the list is Vincent van Gogh – A Wheatfield with Cypresses, 1889
Sold for $57 million in 1993.

Vangogh

I do like this painting, and I really like The Starry Night by Van Gogh. I would love to have either one hanging on my wall, but things are a little tight right now, and I can’t get my hands on the $50+ million needed, so I’ll have to pass.

#18 is Kazimir Malevich – Suprematist Composition, 1916
Sold for $60 million in 2008.

worlds_most_expensive_paintings_03

Could someone please explain this one to me? I think I might have painted this in the 2nd grade. Did this really require any skill?

#14 is Andy Warhol – Green Car Crash, 1963
Sold for $71.7 million in 2007.

worlds_most_expensive_paintings_07

I’m assuming Warhol painted this right after the crash, while he was still a little woozy, is this really art?

There are at least another 10 more paintings on this list that made me scratch my head in amazement, and if you’re a fan of  great works of art, I suggest you look elsewhere. But if you’re also as baffled by these paintings as I am, then you should check out the rest.

I’ll leave you with the #1 painting on the list.  Jackson Pollock – No. 5, 1948
Sold for $140 million in 2006.

worlds_most_expensive_paintings_20

I was painting my living room last year when my dog Maya knocked over the paint can, and then proceeded to roll around in it. The resulting mess looked very similar to this painting. $140 million freaking dollars!!!! I think even Pollack was so ashamed of this painting that he didn’t even bother to give it a name. I would love to find the guy that bought this ocular delight and offer to sell him my Dogs Playing Poker painting. I should get at least a cool million.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Is Not a Post About Baseball

  1. #18 represents Man’s fear of having Bobby Valentine manage a baseball team. And I’m pretty sure #1 tries to capture the inherent futility of trying to convince Ozzie Guillen to keep his trap shut.

Leave a Reply

