The History of Baseball in 100 Objects #16-The Bobblehead Doll

100 book

This is a list of objects in no particular order that define baseball’s history. They will encompass the entire history of the game up until 1994(The year they took the game away) and will be chosen due to their importance to the game, the fans, and me. I hope you enjoy the ride.

#16- The Bobblehead Doll

giants bobblehead

OK, before we start let me just say, I’m not a fan of the Bobblehead. I don’t like the Bobblehead. I fear the Bobblehead. Just look at them. Smiling with that devilish smirk that let’s you know that they know they freak you out. Those eyes that follow you wherever you go, boring into you like some kind of cherubic nightmare. The head bobbing all the time, bobbing, bobbing……..bobbing. Sometimes when you least expect it, the head goes from side to side. “I just don’t bob, I follow. I see you sleeping there Kevin, don’t worry, I’m your friend, I won’t hurt you.” Yeah right. Never turn your back on a bobblehead doll….never!!!

These demonic step children of Satan 1st appeared about 150 years ago in Germany, initially in the shape of animals. Around 1920 the 1st sports related bobblehead appeared as a New York Knicks basketball player. Unfortunately I couldn’t find a picture of this particular figurine. It’s probably sitting on Beelzebub’s nightstand.

In 1960 Major League baseball was finally possessed by the satanic pull of the bobblehead when they released a series of papier-mache  figures, one for each Major League team. Each bobblehead was identical except for the rendering of each teams uniform.

The 1st specific figures were produced for the 1960 World Series. They included Mickey Mantle, Roberto Clemente and Willie Mays.

Since then virtually any sports figure of note has been bobblized. Every world leader, scientist, actor, Star Wars character etc. has been bobblized. I don’t know why. I’ll never know why. But the Bobblehead has become a baseball fixture, and it is a part of the history of baseball.

My son has a Texas Chainsaw Massacre bobblehead in his room. I refuse to enter his room alone. I don’t own a bobblehead, and I never will. Not since that night in 1967. They’ll never convince me that my Yankee bobblehead just fell off the shelf and hit me in the head. It jumped…It turned it’s evil head….and jumped. There was nothing I could do. There’s nothing any of us can do. Beware the bobblehead……beware.

Check Out Objects 1-15 HERE

This entry was posted in A History of Baseball in 100 Objects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The History of Baseball in 100 Objects #16-The Bobblehead Doll

  1. LMAO! Bobbleheads, and clowns. And creepy religious fanatics that come to my door at 3:30 in the afternoon when I have my guard down, trying to convert me to their dogma of the day. Put these three groups on an ice flow and push them out into the Bering Sea.
    Nice post,
    Bill

  2. verdun2 says:

    Know a guy who bobs his head up and down when he talks. Drives me crazy. Like you I hate bobbleheads.
    v

Leave a Reply

